365 Poems

At the start of the month I decided to challenge myself to write a poem a day for the whole of July.  After sharing my intention on facebook a friend upped the ante to a year, while she does the 365 Photo Challenge (if you’d like to see her progress so far check out B.Inspired)

After a surge of creative energy on day 1, the next week became a little more challenging, with some poems sounding somewhat forced and others still in early draft stages.  But I’ve been finding as I progress through the days that the poems are getting easier and easier to write, and everywhere I look I have begun to see inspiration for poetry.  Although I won’t be sharing every poem with you (I plan on publishing many of them and unfortunately most journals insist on first publishing rights) I will post a couple each month.  To start with: day 2’s poem, which today I finally transformed into a finished poem.

A book of drafts

A book of drafts and no poems,
only a day in and already I’m
in debt—if I can’t find these gems
I’m going to run out of time.
Has my muse abandoned me so
swiftly?  Taken her fairy dust,
left me alone and feeling low.
How could I have earned her mistrust?
Or am I making excuses?
That old catch cry of writer’s block—
a label I’m the one who chooses.
Perhaps I should ignore the clock,
for in the end I know nothing
will ever stop me from writing;
whether my words struggle or sing,
for them I’ll always be fighting.

If you’d like to join me on this challenge, or you’ve done something similar, whether it be poetry, photography or another medium, I’d love to hear your thoughts and experiences about the process or see some of your work.

4 thoughts on “365 Poems

  1. irisoniris says:

    God bless you in this endeavor and I hope your muse cooperates. The only useful thing I could probably throw in, is that it would help this project if you tried new things. Nothing like new experiences to jolt a sleepy muse. Roller coasters and impromptu road trips work too. 😉

  2. […] 365 Poems (shannabeale.wordpress.com) […]

    • shannabeale says:

      Thanks for sharing your story. Writing can be a hard gig sometimes, especially when opportunities are few and there is so much competition. It is so important for us all to support each other and believe in ourselves. I wish you all the best in getting your first collection published.

Leave a Reply

