Leaving Winter Behind

Full moon behind cloudsAs part of the 365 challenge, me and my photographer friend, Rebecca, decided to add a theme for each month (the theme for July being just to get through the month).  For the second month of the challenge, we decided to use “reflected light” as inspiration.  Since I have been recovering from a major injury and haven’t had as much time as I’d like to devote to poetry I decided to write a series of haikus on the theme.

Now haikus involve more than just getting teh right amount of syllables.  Traditionally, a haiku should be able to be expressed in one breath, as well as creating a poetic image by juxtaposing two ideas or images.  The haiku, unlike other forms such as the senryu that uses the same structure but with a focus on the human experience, is about distilling an element of nature to convey a poignant moment of some relation to the human condition.  Traditionally this also includes a seasonal reference.  When I was researching the form I was particularly struck by the idea that a haiku is unfinished as it requires the reader to finish the poem within his or her heart.
For more detail about the form you can visit http://www.wikihow.com/Write-a-Haiku-Poem

Five Winter haikus

the sun pierces clouds
falls in a splay of light play
dances in puddles

a vine falls on glass
where a solitary leaf
reflects the sunlight

sun paints a pattern
of light in the windshield frost
it disintegrates

the moon’s reflection
floats lonely in a puddle
cold wind bites my neck

a cloud glows yellow
sun sinks to the horizon
Spring is coming soon

To continue with the seasonal inspiration, the theme for September is Spring, and I will be sharing some of those poems in the coming weeks.

2 thoughts on “Leaving Winter Behind

  1. Polly says:

    Why do heikus always sound lonely 😦

    • shannabeale says:

      Perhaps it is something about the moment of inspiration, I find they tend to come to me when I’m walking by myself. Or perhaps I was just feeling a little sick of Winter. I’ll have to work on writing a few happy ones.

Leave a Reply

