NaPoWriMo Day 5: The Gift/Enough Rope

Day 5/279

20140420_213203

From “The Norton Anthology of Poetry, 4th Ed.”

The prompt for day 5 is to use the poetic form: golden shovel, named after the poem of its creator Terrance Hayes.  You can read his poem, The Golden Shovel and the poem it was based on, Gwendolyn Brooks’ We Real Cool. I’ve used (a slight variation) of The Gift by N. Scott Momaday, which you can read in the last line of my version.

This poem came from a dark place, I apologise in advance if it stirs any darkness.  If so remember there is always someone to talk to, even me.

The Gift/Enough Rope

As I grow older
life becomes more
gravelly, less generous;
transitioning to “I” from “we”
I have more of me to give
than I ever did for each
of us when you were my other;

was I the only one who had hope
for him, for us, for the
immutability of love, for the gift
of life, life as is—

the ending is ominous:
I never gave him enough,
he wanted my love, he wanted my praise,
I never gave him enough
except for too much rope.
There is always enough rope.

 

Leave a Reply

