NaPoWriMo Day 16: I don’t care

Day 16/290: I don’t care

I thought I’d share the prompt from NaPoWriMo for day 16 seeing as it came with a comic.

And now for today’s prompt (optional, as always). After yesterday’s form-based prompt, today’s will hopefully be somewhat easier to get into. This prompt is from Daisy Fried, and the basic idea is to write a ten-line poem in which each line is a lie. Your lies could be silly, complicated, tricky, or obvious. This exercise kind of reminds me of Calvin’s dad:

And here is another somewhat depressing poem:

 

I don’t care,
my body hurts but I don’t care,
my head aches with a pain I can’t contain, but really, I don’t care,
the fluorescent light above me hums in time with the beating in my head, but I don’t care,
I don’t know how to make this stop but that’s ok because I just don’t care,
my thoughts are flitting like fireflies from light to light but I tell you I don’t care,
my heart is thudding so hard my ribs creak with the weight but I don’t care,
I don’t think I can get off the floor, but it’s ok, really, I don’t care,
I think I’ll just lie here in a ball because I don’t care, not at all,
I don’t care at all.

Leave a Reply

