Day 365: The final poem (for now)

Day 365

Today marks the final day of my poem a day for a year project.  To celebrate i thought I’d share my final poem, a rewrite of Robert Frost’s famous poem, ‘Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening.  I’ve also included his poem underneath in case you’d like to compare the two.

Stopping on a rainy evening

Which path I’m on I think I know,
this street I don’t recognize though
not in this moment of pause here
while rain blankets the road like snow.

This journey I’m on might seem queer
from where I stand with no one near
while rain-filled streets become a lake
hide footsteps made all this past year.

I stand showered in rain and shake
with cold and the weight of past mistakes;
but the rain falls and with it sweeps
my doubts into naught but snowflakes—

this rainy night is lovely, dark and deep
but I have promises to keep
and miles to go before I sleep
and miles to go before I sleep.

‘Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening’ By Robert Frost

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

from http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/171621

Over the next few weeks I will share more poems and my reflections from my experiences of 365 poems, but for now I will leave you to enjoy my last poem (for now) while I bask in my tired glory of completion.  I would also like to say a big thank you for all the likes, inspiration and encouragement from my family, friends, and of course, my readers.  I couldn’t have done it without you.

Leave a Reply

