Animal Therapy

Animal Therapy
Last time I was sick I was in my bed,
too ill to move even for the water
and the tablets, just an arm’s reach away,
feeling like death, if death had feelings,
unable to do anything but pray
to a god I don’t believe in to help,
to make it go away, to let me sleep,
at least until the pain’s a little less—

when I heard the patter of paws approach,
and the slight impact of the cat’s landing
on my bed, watched her sidle up to me,
putting her face in mine to sniff me out
before curling her warm body up beside
my chest and purring in time with my heart.

cat

 

Leave a Reply

